Filter your search
Search for yachts, articles, offices,
team and more...

Micronesian Islands

The 2,100 Micronesian Islands are scattered across the heart of the southwestern Pacific Ocean, and include four main island groups: the Caroline Islands, the Gilbert Islands, the Mariana Islands and the Marshall Islands. This massive region is larger than the continental United States and contains some of the world's most bio-diverse marine ecosystems including stunningly pristine coral reefs. Destructive fishing methods have extracted staggering amounts of ocean wildlife, removing vital pieces of the marine food web. Luckily, the four main island groups' local governments have committed to the Micronesia Challenge, promising to effectively conserve at least 30% of the near-shore marine resources and 20% of the terrestrial resources across the area by 2020.

Protected Species

Coral Reefs
Micronesian Islands
\"The photographs seen on this page were obtained by the Mission Blue Expeditions team. They have visited Hope Spots around the world, documenting these vibrant marine environments and engaging local stakeholders to protect them. Led by Dr. Sylvia Earle and Expeditions Director Kip Evans, these voyages explore our most critical ocean habitats and are designed to create awareness, foster partnerships and build broad public support for the creation of marine protected areas across the globe.\"

Interested to learn more about this Hope Spot
Support Ocean & Biodiversity through Mission Blue today!